Nsibambi Takes Over as FDC Party Whip, Replacing Ssemujju.

The Speaker of Parliament, Ms. Anita Among, has accepted the appointment of Yusuf Nsibambi, the Member of Parliament for Mawokota South, as the new whip for the opposition Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) party in Parliament. This change follows the removal of Ibrahim Ssemujju, the Member of Parliament for Kira Municipality, from this role by the FDC’s Secretary General, Nathan Nandala Mafabi.

The announcement of this change in FDC leadership was made during a plenary sitting on Wednesday by the Deputy Speaker, Thomas Tayebwa. In a letter addressed to the Members of Parliament, Ms. Among acknowledged the decision of the FDC delegates’ conference to appoint Yusuf Nsibambi as the new FDC Party Whip. She stated, “The Secretary General has, via his letter on October 7, 2023, written to me communicating and confirming the decision of the FDC delegates’ conference appointing Yusuf Nsibambi as FDC Party Whip in Parliament. In the circumstances, I do accept the designation of Nsibambi as FDC Party Whip.”

Mr. Nsibambi, upon receiving this appointment, expressed his commitment to working with all FDC members to address societal issues. He emphasized that his role as whip would aim to establish common positions and address issues affecting society, rather than serving as a supervisor or playing to the gallery. Mr. Nsibambi acknowledged the challenges facing the party and the need for constructive debates within the Parliament.

It’s worth noting that until the 2021 vote, the FDC was the largest opposition party in Uganda. However, internal dissent within the party arose after claims were made by Dr. Kizza Besigye, the four-time presidential flag bearer, alleging that the FDC’s President Patrick Oboi Amuriat and Secretary General Nandala Mafabi had received illicit funds to compromise the party’s integrity in favor of President Museveni. This discord led to some party members, including Ambassador Wasswa Birigwa and spokesman Ssemujju, breaking away and organizing a separate delegates’ conference, re-electing themselves as leaders of the party.

Post a Comment